Volunteer Highlight: Jeremy Holliday, Academic Mentor

#AcademicMentorLife

Hello, my name is Jeremy Holliday and I’m a sophomore this year majoring in Elementary Education. A few things you should know about me:

  •  I grew up in a small town in Kansas called Soldier.
  • I am the oldest of eight kids.
  • I wanted to play in the NBA when I grew up.
  • Twitter is one of my hobbies.

Now that you know a little bit about me, I want to take some time to tell you about my job as an Academic Mentor through K-State. When I first heard about the opportunity to hang out with kids, I was ecstatic! What a great opportunity to surround myself with elementary students when I’m going to be an elementary teacher someday. I applied for the job, and let me tell you, it’s been one of the best experiences of my life.

I work at two different sites, Saint George Elementary and Marlatt Boys and Girls Club. Both sites are great places to be, and I absolutely love walking into the building to see kids filled with energy and smiling faces. There are several different things that I enjoy about both of them. At Saint George I’ve been given the opportunity to work with kindergarten through second grade kids one on one in areas such as reading and math. This has been very beneficial as I prepare to be a teacher, and it’s helped direct me to the age range of kids that I would love to teach. I also love the Boys and Girls Club. I love being able to spend time with kids outside of that classroom setting, as I’ve really been able to get to know kids more so than just instructing them in how to do a homework problem.

As I wrap this up, I want to share the best thing about being an Academic Mentor. There is no greater feeling in the world than walking into a classroom and hearing all the kids tell you hi. To be that role model that the kids look up to is so special. To be a person that puts a smile on a kid’s face. To get pictures drawn for you. To have kids run up and give you a hug just because you’re there for them. That’s what life is all about, to make a positive difference in a person’s life. And let me tell you, there is no greater feeling in the world than knowing that you are making a difference in a young child’s life. A difference that a child will remember for the rest of their life.

Learn more about Academic Mentors on our website!

About handsonkansas

HandsOn Kansas State is a program of Kansas State University's School of Leadership Studies. As a Hands On Network affiliate and action center, we promote civic learning and leadership for campus and community through meaningful volunteer and service opportunities.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Volunteer Highlight: Jeremy Holliday, Academic Mentor

  1. Kay Smith says:

    Awesome job Jeremy!

Leave a Reply

